Bhubaneswar: Six identified model cities-Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, Rourkela, Dhenkanal, Jajpur and Chhatrapur– are going to be solid waste management (SWM) compliant by September 25, 2020.

The chief secretary, AP Padhi, at a high level review meeting directed the housing and urban development officials to achieve the target. He also urged them to make other cities of the State SWM compliant by March 2020.

The HUD principal secretary, G Mathevathanan, told the meeting that 1453 bulk waste generators have been identified and 447 Swascha Sathis have been engaged. Similarly, he added, 231 sites have been identified for construction of micro compositing units(MCCs) which will serve 7.13 lakh households in 1458 wards.

The chief secretary, while interacting with the district collectors over video conferencing, directed that the district survey reports (DSR) of miner minerals be completed so that permission would be sought for raising miner minerals. The director environment K. Mrugesan said that DSR is mandatory to grant permission for mining of sand, stone and morums. The collectors were also asked to form district environment committees and district environment action plans as per the directives of the National Green Tribunal.

Development commissioner Asit Tripathy, additional chief secretary forest and environement Suresh Mohapatra, director municipal administration Sangramjit Nayak were present in the meeting.