BhubaneswarL: The former editor of Samaja, Sarat Mishra, has been selected for  this year’s Raja Ram Mohan Roy National Award.

The other awardees are eminent journalist Sam Rajappa,  Delhi based Indian Express journalist Shalini Nair  for rural journalism and development reporting, senior reporter of Mangalam Daily published from Kannur, K.Sujith, Odisha based freelance journalist Chitrangada Choudhury for investigative jornalism, Calicut based Chandrika Daily reporter CK Thanseer, and PTI’s principal photographer based at Delhi, Vijay Verma, for photo journalism (single news picture), Malayala Manorama chief photographer J Surehs for phot feature, and Cochin-based Times of India cartoonists Gireesh Kumar for best newspaper art covering cartoons, caricature and illustrations.
The Press Council of India confers the Raja Ram Mohan Roy National Award for journalism every year. Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) director Mrinal Chaterjee was one of the jury members.