Bhubaneswar:The Biju Janata Dal(BJD) has nominated  Rajya Sabha MP Prasanna Acharya  to be its leader in the Upper House of the Parliament.

The post was lying vacant since the completion of BJD MP Dillip Tirkey’s tenure in April.

The chief minister and BJD president, Naveen Patnaik, Monday wrote a letter to Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu apprising him about the decision.

The BJD has nine MPs in the Rajya Sabha out of the state’s 10 seats in the Upper House. The Opposition Congress has a lone member in the Rajya Sabha from Odisha.