Bhubaneswar: After dishing out Rs 3 crores cash award to sprinter Dutee Chand for bagging two silvers, Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik Saturday announced Rs 1 crore cash reward each for four hockey players from the State in Indian women’s team that clinched silver for the country in Asian Games.

The four Odia players in Indian women hockey team were Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Deep Grace Ekka.

The coach of these players will be given an award equivalent to 20% of the awards of medal winners at Asian Games.

The Indian women hockey team played final in the Asian Games after a gap of 20 years.

Dutee Chand

“Odisha is the proud sponsor of the Indian National Hockey team. The State has always promoted hockey and is also the host of Men’s Hockey World Cup,” said a press release issued by the chief minister’s office.