By Aditya Nayak

New Delhi: Australia skipper Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner and Cameron Bancroft would not be able to play the home Tests against India in December, this season.

The three Australian cricketeers have been banned for their involvement in ball-tempering scandal. While Smith and Warner have been banned for one year, Bancroft has been suspended for nine month.With the Cricket Australia making it clear that the ban period can not be reduced, Smith and Warner would be able to return to pitch only after March 29,2019 and Bancroft after December 29,2019.

CA interim chairman Earl Eddings said: “CA maintains that both the length and nature of the sanctions remain an appropriate response in light of the considerable impact on the reputation of Australian cricket, here and abroad.”