Rourkela:The Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) hockey team has emerged as the champion in the SPSB Inter Steel Plant Hockey Championship-2019. The Championship was organized by Tata Steel in association with Steel Plant Sports Board (SPSB) at Jamshedpur from 6th to 8th August 2019.

The RSP team comprising 16 cadets of SAIL Hockey Academy displayed brilliant skills to beat Bhilai Steel Plant 9-0 in the final match. The team had a superb spell in the league matches as well. The RSP team defeated RINL  6-1 and Tata Steel  3-1 and held Bhilai Steel Plant to a 1-1 draw.           

Kerubin Lakra of RSP team bagged the Best Player of the Championship for his superb performance in the tournament. 

RSP GM(TA & CSR) Ajay Kumar Nayak felicitated the champion team in a function organised at Biju Pattnaik Hockey Stadium, here on Friday. DGM(PH &SW) B K Rout and other senior officers of the plant were present on the occasion.