Bhubaneswar: Odisha has bagged two National Awards for the first time in the Swachh Survekshan 2020.
Results of Swachh Survekshan-2020 have been declared by the union housing and urban affairs during “Swachh Mohatshav” held in New Delhi on Thursday.

Odisha has bagged the ‘Fastest Moving State Award’ and Berhampur Municipal Corporation has received award under “Innovation Award” category

Minister of housing and urban affairs Hardeep Singh Puri presented the awards in a virtual ceremony where all the States and Cities were connected through web.

The award for the State has been received by Odisha minister for H & UD Pratap Jena and his principal G Mathi Vathanan .

The award for Berhampur Municipal Corporation was received by the Ganjam collector Vijay Amruta Kulange and commissioner of the Corporation and other officials.

Decentralised treatment and processing in Micro Composting Centres & Material Recovery Facilities, converting bio-degradable waste to organic manure (Mo Khata) and non-bio-degradable waste to recyclable waste and decentralised septage management with active involvement of Mission Sakti Members are some of the key features of Odisha’s transformative sanitation journey to achieve Swachh Odisha – Sustha Odisha.
Minister Jana after receiving the award has thanked and expressed his gratefulness to chief minister Naveen Patnaik. He has also congratulated officers of H&UD department .

Odisha’s six cities Paradeep, Barbil, Dhenkanal, Rajgangpur, Vysanagar and Chaudwar have been adjudged among the top 20 ranking cities in the East zone with 50K-1 lakh population category.