New Delhi: NDA candidate Harivansh Naryan Singh has won the Rajya Sabha deputy chairman election on Monday.

The UPA candidate was Manoj Jha.

Singh won the election with the support of 9 BJD Rajya Sabha members. The BJD has issued three-line whip to its member to be present in House and participate in the election. Today morning after Bihar chief minister and JDU supremo telephoned to Odisha chief minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik to support JDU candidate Singh who is also the NDA candidate, the Odisha outfit extended it’s support for Singh.