New Delhi: The chief information commissioner Y.K. Sinha Saturday administered the oath of office to information commissioners Heeralal Samariya, Saroj Punhani and Uday Mahurkar at a swearing-in ceremony organized, here on Friday. With their induction, the total number of information commissioners including the chief information commissioner has risen to 8 in the Central Information Commission.

 Heeralal Samariya, a former IAS officer, was secretary, ministry of labour & employment before retirement.

Saroj Punhani, an IA&AS officer, was holding the post of deputy comptroller & auditor general (HR & Training) .

Uday Mahurkar was functioning as senior deputy editor with a leading media house.