Bhubaneswar: Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, an IAS officer of 1986 batch, is going to take over as the new chief secretary of Odisha from new year.

Born at Kansar village in Deogarh district in 1962, Mohapatra belongs to Keonjhar district. He passed matriculation from DN Highschool Keonjhar, B. Sc. from Ravenshaw college in 1982 and MSc tech Applied Geology from ISM Dhanbad in 1985.

Mohapatra joined IAS in 1986 after brief stint in ONGC. After probation training in Sambalpur district he was posted as Sub collector Nuapada in Kalahandi district for 2 years from 1988 to 90. Thereafter he served as ADM Puri followed by PD, DRDA, Balasore and Mayurbhanj districts between 1990 to 1993.

Joined as first collector of newly formed Bhadrak district in 1993 after the Riots. During serious Kandhamal riots the than chief minister Biju Pattnaik posted him as collector Kandhamal to control the riots. During Naba Kalebar of lords in 1996, he was posted as collector Puri. He played a key role in conducting Nabakalevar smoothly.

Mohapatra worked in Omfed as MD for about 6 years and launched many new products. He was entrusted with responsibility of CEO, CESU after the power company AES left suddenly. Then after he led Gridco as its CMD for 3 years and then became RDC cuttack for 2 years.

He was appointed as Ist chief administrator of Puri temple for 3 years,Secretary of energy department twice,Secretary in Water resources and Forest Dept for about 8 years. During this time Mohapatra very successfully started the trend setting innovative schemes like mega lift, deep bore well, check dams and eco tourism. These programs, because of their success and potential were replicated and upscaled in successive years.

Mohapatra was again posted as chief administrator of Puri temple in 2015 for the second time during which he conducted Nabakalevar of the Lords .

Presently serving as Additional Chief Secretary and Development Commissioner and working chairman of Temple management committee. He was also sent to handle Kandhamal riots in 2007 and 2008 by the Hon’ble Chief Minister.