Bhubaneswar: Railway traction power transmission projects have been put on fast track with chief secretary Suresh Chnadra Mohapatra giving timelines while reviewing the progress in a high level meeting held Monday on digital mode from Lokseva Bhawan.

Taking a project wise review, Mohapatra asked Odisha Power Transmission Corporation (OPTCL) to adhere to the time schedule for completion of the projects

Further, Mohapatra asked the principal secretary energy to take a month wise review of the work-schedule in coordination with concerned departments for expeditious implementation.

Railways were asked to complete construction of their power conversion sub-stations in pace with power supply projects of the OPTCL. It may be pertinent here to mention that OPTCL supplies 132 Kv or 220 Kv power to railway feeders from where the railways take power as per requirement of the trains through power conversion sub-stations.

MCL was requested to expedite the issue of no objection certificates for Belpahar transmission tower.

Presenting details of the projects, principal secretary energy N.B. Dhal said, “Presently around 27 railway traction transmission projects have been assigned to OPTCL out of which 7 projects have been completed within the scheduled time with investment of around Rs 59 crore. Other 17 projects estimated around Rs 247 crore are in different phases of implementation and 3 are in process of tendering. Out of 17 ongoing projects, 8 have been prioritized as critical ones by the railways for which special focus have been laid on early completion of the projects”.

Chairman OPTCL Dr Sourabh Garg appraised, “As of now construction of OPTCL railway transmission sub-stations have been completed at Nuapada, Kamakshya Nagar, Kendrapara, Kechobahal, Deogaon, Lanjigarh and Boina road stations. Out of this, railways have started power drawal from 5 sub-stations. Commissioning of power supply to railway lines like Titilagarh-Sambalpur-Jharsuguda, Singapur-Damanjodi, Lanjigarh-Junagarh, Nuapada-Gunupur, Tatanagar-Badampahar, Khurdha-Nuagao and Rupsa-Bangiriposi have been expedited.

Other important RTSS projects reviewed in the meeting included the project at Maneswar, Bimilagarh, Belpahar, Malatipatapur, Sukinda Road, Dhanmandal, Gurposh, Bamara, Dhutra, Charbatia, Siju and Mancheswar. OPTCL was directed to complete these projects in the current working season within 2 to 3 months.

Secretary IT and commissioner railway coordination Manoj Kumar Mishra, project director OPTCL Rajiv Lochan Panda and principal chief engineer railways Basudeb Panda participated in the discussions.