Bhubaneswar: International Management Institute, Bhubaneswar (IMI-B) hosted its 8th Annual Convocation on 27th February 2021. The convocation was held in hybrid mode on IMI Bhubaneswar’s 16-acre lush green campus located on the outskirts of Bhubaneswar. Shri Anil Agarwal, Founder and Chairman of Vedanta Resources Plc. was the chief guest of the convocation. In attendance were over 500 dignitaries from academia, government, corporate worlds as well as members of the Board of Governors of IMI Bhubaneswar and of RPSG Group.

Founder chairman of Vedanta Resources Plc. Anil Agarwal delivered a captivating convocation address and left the students enthralled by his inspiring and motivating speech. He started his speech by telling the students about his humble origins and how he came to Mumbai to achieve his dreams. He told the graduating students that they are the “torch bearers of modern India” and he urged them to join companies which are transparent in their dealings with the society and which have the potential to create value.

Emphasizng the importance of start-up and entrepreneurships in building a new India, he said : Startup is the new mantra for you. There are opportunities in start-ups that I have never seen in my life before. There are private investors, government support and ample opportunities for you to become employment giver instead of employment taker.

He also emphasized the need for education and promised his full support to IMI Bhubaneswar in all its endeavors. He also reminisced about his long association with Biju Pattanaik and Odisha. His advice of stay humble, stay honest and stay hungry was met with loud approvals from the audience.

IMi director Prof. Ramesh Behl presenting the annual report said the PGDM 2017-2020 batch was a special batch comprising of 40 executives of Vedanta Limited, Jharsuguda who had joined the PGDM programme in their bid to become more efficient managers.

IMI- Bhubaneswar chairman and RPSG chairman Sanjeev Goenka conveyed his best wishes to the graduating students. He nominated Sunil Mitra(retired IAS and Board Member of RPSG Group) to chair the proceedings of the convocation. Mitra compared that management education to a nursery, where the students are shaped for the larger goal of uplifting the community.

He also declared the names of the medal winners. The medal winners for PGDM 2018-20 batch were Vishal Chaudhury (Gold Medal), Maitri Jain (Silver Medal), Pratik Mahesh Ruparel (Dr. Rama Prasad Goenka Best Student Medal) and Prateek Chawla (Director’s Medal for Overall Contribution to Institute). The medal winners for 2017-20 batch were: Vivek Saxena (Gold Medal) and Sarita SuvardashiniLaha (Silver Medal)

Chairperson Programme IMI Bhubaneswar Prof. Sourabh Sharma presented the 40 students of the PGDM 2017-20 and 98 students of PGDM 2018-20 batch for the award of degree and Sunil Mitra conferred the degree unto the graduating students.