Bhubaneswar: The Sarala Award 2017 was conferred on eminent short story writer Banaja Devi, here on Thursday during the 38th edition of the event. The Award instituted by IMFA’s charitable wing IMPaCT was given to her for her story collection ‘Kathapua’ and overall literary achievements for the year 2017

Chief Guest Padmashree Mamang Dai handed over the Award and the citation along with the cash award of Rs 5 lakh to the literature.

Accomplished vocal artist Dr. Ghasiram Mishra was conferred with Ila Panda Sangeet Samman. and eminent artist Dr Durga Prasad Das was presented Ila Panda Chitrakala Samman.

Both Mishra and Das received cash awards of Rs 1.5 lakh each along with citations.

The Sarala Award, which has been recognised as the foremost literary award of Odisha, was instituted in 1979 by IMPaCT.