Bhubaneswar: BK Sharma, the DG Fire Service Department has been appointed as the Director General of Police in-charge of Odisha on Wednesday.

A 1986-batch IPS officer, Sharma has earned a name as the Cuttack-Bhubaneswar Police Commissioner. He has been appointed as DG Fire Service Department since November, 2017.

Sharma has replaced Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma, who has applied for voluntary retirement on being selected as the member of the Odisha Lokayukta on Tuesday.