Bhubaneswar: The Odisha chief minister, Naveen Patnaik, Tuesday declared that the 5% DA would be paid with effect from July 2019 and not January 2020 as declared earlier.

The CM’s declaration has been widely appreciated by State government employees and officers. The Odisha Secretariate Employees Federation has expressed its gratitude to the chief minister.

The finance department, vide its letter number 9476/ 17.03.2020, has sanctioned “Dearness Allowance @ 5% enhancing the existing rate from 12% to 17% with effect from 01.07.2019 in favour of State government employees drawing pay in revised scale of pay, 2017.”

The State government earlier had declared to pay the 5% DA with effect from January 2020. Protesting the decision, the employees had threatened to launch an agitation.

However, the CMO intervened into the matter and assured that the employees demand would be considered.

The arrear amount from 01.07.2019 to 31.12.2020 would be paid in cash, said the finance department notification.