MS Padhi

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government Monday deputed four senior IAS officers to four districts that are highly prone to cyclone Amphan. In view of impending Super Cyclone AMPHAN, Odisha Government today assigned four IAS officers to monitor situation in four possible affected districts — Balasore, Bhadrak, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur.

Hemant Sharma

State commerce & transport principal secretary Madhu Sudan Padhi, industries principal secretary Hemant Sharma, excise secretary Sushil Kumar Lohani and higher education secretary Saswat Mishra have been assigned the districts of Balasore, Kendrapada, Bhadrak and Jagatsinghpur respectively.

SK Lohani

According to Special Relief Commissioner Pradip Jena, the four officers are going to support, supervise the disaster management measures along with the district administration.

Saswat Mishra

The IMD is expecting that the cyclone Amphan would make a landfall in Sundarban of West Bengal in the morning of 20th May. Under the influence of the cyclone, five northern districts of Balasore, Bhadrak, Kendrapada and Jagatsinghpur are going to get heavy rainfall accompanied by gusty wind blowing at a speed of about 165 km per hour.