Bhubaneswar: Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik Friday said that the State has registered a growth by 55% in exports in value term by November in the current fiscal as compared to the same period in last financial year.

He was speaking at State Export Award ceremony,here on Friday.

While inaugurating the State Export Award Ceremony-2021, Patnaik said, ” I am glad that despite the adverse situation caused by COVID-19 pandemic, export from the State in the current financial year up to November has registered 55 percent increase over the export value corresponding to the same period in last financial year. This is an outstanding achievement by the exporters of Odisha despite global recession and stiff international competition. I congratulate the exporting community of the State for this remarkable feat and hope this upward trend will continue in the coming years.”

The chief minister said, there are many local MSME products which have the potential to compete in the global market. Time is not far off when the Departmental stores in Europe and America will be studded with products made by our Women Self Help Groups from Kalahandi, Kandhamal and Malkangiri, he added.

” Quality of products is an essential factor for boosting export. We must think of world-class standard while considering the quality aspect of a product or a service.
I congratulate the winners of the state export award and also express my best wishes to all the exporters for their efforts. Together we can make Odisha an export hub of the country.”

Patnaik said that Odisha is among the top five States in the Export Preparedness Index (EPI) 2020 released by the Niti Aayog. The State government’s efforts to promote exports are paying off in boosting our export turnover consistently.

Speaking on the occasion, minister industry & MSME Dibya Shankar Mishra said that Odisha has excellent potential to become a major exporting State in the country because of its natural resoruces, locations and advantages.

Chief secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, development commissioner Pradip Jena, APC R K Sharma gave away the awards to exporters on behalf of the chief minsiter for the year 2017-18 and 2018-19. Total 26 exporters of Odisha were awarded in different category on this occasion.
Principal secretary MSME Satyabrata Sahoo gave the welcome address. Secretry to chief minister (5-T) V K Pandian coordinated the meeting.