Bhubaneswar: Chief minister Naveen Patnaik Monday rolled out 18 Highway Patrolling Units in 18 stretches of various State and National Highways on virtual platform. Launching these units, the chief minister said that these units will play a crucial role in saving the lives of accident victims on highways.

Speaking on the concern of the State over road accident related deaths on highways, the chief minister said that many valuable lives are lost every year in Odisha for this reason. He said that the government is committed to reduce such fatalities and is taking up several steps to contain these unfortunate incidents.

Announcing the introduction of Highway Patrolling, he said that the timing for taking an accident victim from a point of accident to the nearest hospital is crucial in saving lives. The quicker we can take an injured person to hospital, the better is the chance of survival, he added. These Patrolling units will be highly useful in these circumstances by carrying the accident victims as quickly as possible, he specified.
He further said that the Sate government has a target of creating 36 Patrolling Units in various accident prone stretches. The functioning and experience of these 18 Units in the first phase will guide us for further action and future initiatives. He asked the officials to resume more sensitization initiatives for drivers on various road safety mechanisms and laws relating to it.

Home minister Dibya Shankar Mishra, who was present at Manguli Chhak near Cuttack, said the the chief minister has always stressed on saving valuable human lives. Odisha is a model state in disaster management and saving lives. The initiative for Highway Patrolling is another significant endeavour in this direction, he added.

D.G. Police Abhay offered the vote of thanks.

Secretary to CM (5-T) VK Pandian moderated the programme. MLAs were also present at different locations
Among others, chief secretary, development commissioner and ACS home were present.
In the first phase, these units will function on the following stretches in different districts.
Ganjam –
• Khurdha district border to Rambha
• Rambha to Chhatrapur
• Chhatrapur to Girisola.
Berhampur –
• Gopalpur Chhak to Golanthara border
Khurdha –
• Pittapali to Tapang Check gate.
• Tapang Check Gate to Tangi P.S.
• Tangri PS. To Ganjam district border

Angul –
• Angul Town to Jarapada

Bargarh –
• Bargarh district border to Sohela.
Rourkela –
• Panposh Chhak to Kansbahal

Balasore –
• Rupsa P.S. to Sergarh Toll Gate.

Bhadrak –
• Balasore district border to Nalanga.
• Nalanga to Jajpur district border
Puri –
• Satyabadi to Puri Town
Jajpur –
• Bhadrak district border to Jarka.
• Kuakhia to Chhatia

Cuttack –
• Chhatia to Manguli.
• Adhala to Baladiabandh.