Cuttack : The 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships got off at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, here on Wednesday. Players from as many as 12 nations are participating in this international sports event.

The players will vie for seven trophies– Home Association Cup(men’s team championship), India Cup for (women’s team championship), Singapore Cup(men’s singles), Hong Kong Cup ( men’s doubles), Oceania Cup (women’s singles), Canada Cup(women’s doubles) and Guernsey Cup(mixed doubles).

Out of the 12 nations participated in the Championships, while England, Cyprus and Sri Lank are in the Group A, India, Singapore and Scotland are in Group B. Naigeria, Malaysia and Bangladesh are in Group C while Malaysia, while Australia, South Africa and Wales are in Group D.

The Indian team is being lead by A. Sharath Kamal.

Odisha governor Ganeshi Lal declared the Championships open at a ceremonial function today. The closing ceremony of the six-day Championship will be held on July 22, 2019.