New Delhi: Odisha’s first time MPs are yet to get official bungalows as over 200 former MPs are yet to vacate their accomodations. Most of them are staying either in Odisha Niwas or Western Court and guest houses.

Odisha’s Bhubaneswar MP Aparajit Sarangi has her own accommodation as her IAS husband Santosh Sarangi is in Delhi on Central deputation. Achyut Samant and Anubhav Mohanty, who were Rajya Sabha MPs before becoming Lok Sabha MPs, have their government bungalows. Similarly, veteran MPs like Bhatrubari Mehtab, Juel Oram have their official bungalows. However, first timers like Suresh Pujhari, Basant Panda, Mahesh Sahu, Chandrani Murmu, Manjulata Mandal, Saptagiri Ulaka, Rajashree Mallick, Sharmistha Sethi, Ramesh Majhi, Chandra Sekher Sahu, Biswashar Tudu and Pramila Bisoi are yet to get official bungalows in the Lutyens’ Delhi and are now staying in temporary accommodations provided by the Lok Sabha secretariat.

The MPs those have lost the elections were supposed to vacate their official accommodations within one month of the dissolution of the previous Lok Sabha. The president Ramnath Kovind had declared the 16th Lok Sabha dissolved on May 25, 2019. Even though nearly three months have passed, over 200 former MPs are yet to vacate their official bungalows.

The 17th Lok Sabha elections have elected as many as 260 MPs for the first time. And, most of them are yet to get the official bungalows in Delhi as former MPs are yet to vacate their accommodations. Many of them are now staying in their respective State Bhawans. The Lok Sabha secretariat, however, has provided them temporary accommodations in Western Court(MPs new hostel) or guest houses. Earlier, newly elected MPS were used to stay in five-star hotels till they were allotted an official bungalow.